WINNING TEACHERS Healdsburg’s Sunrise Rotary awarded $500 each to five Teachers of the Year on April 27. From left, Thomas Warf, Healdsburg High School; Stephanie Feith, Healdsburg Elementary Fitch Mountain Campus; Marcela Hernandez, Healdsburg Elementary School; Jennifer Kettmann, West Side School; and T.C. Peterson, Healdsburg Junior High. (Photo by Dr. Doug Pile)

Each year the Rotary Club of Healdsburg Sunrise works with the Healdsburg Unified School District and Westside School District principals to choose an outstanding teacher. The club awards each with a $500 check, a memorial plaque and recognition at an awards dinner.

This year, that dinner took place on April 27 at Villa Chanticleer, hosted by Nancy Palumbo, past president of the club. Also in attendance were Healdsburg Mayor Ariel Kelley, So Co 4th District Supervisor James Gore, Sonoma County Superintendent of Schools Dr. Amie Carter and Senator Mike McGuire represented by his aide, Kai Cooper.

The recognized teachers were: Marcela Hernandez, T-K teacher at Healdsburg Elementary School; Stephanie Feith, fourth grade humanities teacher at Healdsburg Elementary Fitch Mountain Campus; Jennifer Kettmann, first grade teacher at West Side School; T.C. Peterson, language arts and ELD support at Healdsburg Junior High; and Thomas Warf, history teacher at Healdsburg High School.

“I’m sure you can agree that we need as much good, happy news as possible as well as support for our public education system,” Palumbo said. “The principals’ reasons for their selections are my favorite part of this annual event because we learn how each teacher goes above and beyond their daily teaching requirements to be a positive influence in the lives of their students and colleagues.”

Previous articleHealdsburg Happenings
Next articleHaving Horse Sense in Healdsburg


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here